Something to listen to: Mahler – Symphony no. 2 ‘Resurrection’ — Manfred Honeck conducts the Pittsburgh Symphony

Gustav Mahler

Gustav Mahler

Anyone who would even entertain the notion of reading anything contained in this space knows enough about Mahler’s Second Symphony to make any possible explanation I may put forth essentially fruitless.  I could wax on about the epic funeral music of the 1st movement, and wax off about the apocalyptic finale, but we all know the story.  This piece is enormously popular, and we’ve all heard it at least once, or in some cases hundreds of times (I have a condition!).

Ever since the “Bernstein” revival of Mahler’s music, it has become a key component of every orchestra’s repertoire (you could make a reasonably compelling claim that it has even superceded Beethoven to become THE key component, but that’s a discussion for another dimension).  What does this mean?  That every conductor, band, and Forbes magazine regular has performed, recorded, or been interviewed about this music, often on more than one occasion.

Why, then, should we even bother listening to yet another interpretation of this warhorse?  Two reasons:

1) It’s Manfred Honeck and the Pittsburgh Symphony…they of the universally acclaimed performance and recording of the First Symphony that tore your face off within the calendar year.  I have no qualms whatsoever about declaring that no orchestra alive and kicking today has a greater range of expression than the folks in Pittsburgh.  They can kick into gears that other bands simply don’t possess (think of them as the 1967 Shelby GT 500 with nitrous booster of orchestras).  To say that Mahler’s Second demands a wide range of expression is like saying that Kim Kardashian demands marginally noteworthy black guys; both also have “rear ends” that take 34 minutes to experience.  Add in Honeck’s solid Mahler track record and you have all the makings…

2) It’s free.

With that in mind, here are the links.

mp3
M2mp3

FLAC
M2flac-part1
M2flac-part2
M2flac-part3

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
Manfred Honeck, conductor
Katy Shakelton Williams, soprano
Elizabeth deShong, mezzo soprano
Mendelssohn Choir of Pittsburgh
12 & 14 June 2009

The symphony is contained in a single file in both mp3 and FLAC formats.  You will need HJSplit or something resembling it to join the FLAC file to the point of it producing sound on your computer.

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Something to listen to: Mahler – Symphony no. 2 ‘Resurrection’ — Manfred Honeck conducts the Pittsburgh Symphony

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Everything But The Music

  2. Pingback: Something to listen to: Mahler Symphony no. 3 with Manfred Honeck and the Pittsburgh Symphony « Everything But The Music

  3. Don’t REALLY want to bother you…but these files have been axed by Rapidshare, too! Actually these have been gone for a while; I had this page bookmarked “until I could get to it” but when I did, about a day later, the files had already been trashed, so I removed the bookmark.

    Now, however, I know there’s a real person behind the blog…someone whose writing I can stay with for considerable lengths of time, for which I thank you. Too much of what gets written today is only able to hold one’s attention for a sentence or two.

  4. Pingback: Re-up: Mahler Symphony no. 2 « Everything But The Music

  5. Any chance you could re-up these…rapidshare has been defunct for quite some time. Thanks!

  6. Hi Stephen. I’m not sure how likely it is that I can re-upload stuff, unfortunately. A few of the things I uploaded I don’t have anymore. Mostly, though, I got enough e-mails from people that work for orchestras asking that I take them down. Rather than worry about trying to find some other method of delivery, I figured it wasn’t worth it for me to run afoul of the orchestras, or the copyright police for that matter.

  7. Thanks for the reply. I would buy this recording if I could. I traveled to hear Honeck perform Mahler’s 6th and the 5th, but missed the 2nd. If there is a trade we could arrange for the recording of this one, let me know. Thanks again for your time.

You got something you wanna say? You talking to me?

