In which I revisit the conducting of Eivind Gullberg Jensen thanks to a flurry of positive comments from informed listeners in an attempt to determine whether my opinion of his musical approach has shifted in the ensuing two years since my hyperbolic assault that appears above his own management team’s website on the first page of Google results

Um………………….

I tried the following: Dvorak 8, Tschaikovsky 5, Mahler 5, Sibelius 5, Sibelius 2. All recorded after the original post. I gave up after that.

I’m keeping my ears open for the Pathetique mentioned in the last comment.

9 thoughts on “In which I revisit the conducting of Eivind Gullberg Jensen thanks to a flurry of positive comments from informed listeners in an attempt to determine whether my opinion of his musical approach has shifted in the ensuing two years since my hyperbolic assault that appears above his own management team’s website on the first page of Google results

  1. I don’t think that Google result is gonna change any time soon…

  2. I don’t think so either. I feel kind of bad, actually. The internet was sort of designed for hyperbole, but I guess I’d be bummed if I saw that. It’s obviously not affecting him in any way, and it certainly isn’t stopping orchestras around the world from hiring him, so I guess it’ll just be a healthy ego check that will fuel him to ever greater heights.

  3. For those not in the know, that last sentence is another internet specialty: self-aggrandizement. He has no fucking idea who I am, nor should he.

  4. i don’t feel it is inaccurate to say nothing sounds even remotely musical under his direction.. indeed, he fails to inspire music to occur on a regular basis. shouldn’t he know? EGJ ruins sibelius in such a classic way, i could write a thesis on the phenomenology of the thing

  5. Pingback: On jealousy, failure, and perception « Everything But The Music

  6. I see you’re commenting on Tschaikovsky 5. Just heard another great concert with Eivind Gullberg Jensen and London Philharmonic Orchestra, performing in Wiesbaden. Totally impressive! I’m sorry to say, I agreed with the last comments on the originalpost. Your harsh comments are nothing else than oldfashioned jealousy.

  7. Or, you have questionable taste and don’t know how Tschaikovsky 5 should go.

    BASELESS ACCUSATIONS, HOORAY!

    As with the previous comments, I’m very happy that his work is being received positively somewhere. I’m glad your experience was memorable. To each their own, indeed!

  8. Pingback: Something to listen to: Eivind Gullberg Jensen FOR THE WIN! « Everything But The Music

  9. Pingback: Eivind Gullberg Jensen is the worst conductor in the universe: UPDATED! | Everything But The Music

You got something you wanna say? You talking to me?

