A new year’s resolution with help from the hipster bastards over at tumblr

Frightened of the old ones

The link above is to a blog that I’m going to attempt in 2014. The title of the blog comes, like the title of this blog, from a quote issued by an important musician. In this case it’s John Cage: “I can’t understand why people are frightened of new ideas. I’m frightened of the old ones.”

The idea behind the new outpost is quite simple. It’s my hope to listen to a piece of music every single day in 2014 that is “new” to me. In some cases this will mean music written within the last year. In others it may be something that was written 400 years ago that I just don’t know. My intention is to just to listen and post a stray thought or two about what I heard and thought about it. Why tumblr? Hell if I know. Why not I guess. 

At any rate, I thought that it would be a fun exercise to wile away another year of my life spent in pseudo-exile here in the middle of our great nation. Furthermore, it will obviously be a learning experience. I suspect it’ll be very revealing about the things I don’t know, which is terrific. Any help I can get from people to broaden my own horizons is a massive and glorious win in my book.

With that in mind I’ll need everyone’s help. If there’s a piece of music that you love, no matter what or when or why, holler at me about it. You can hit me up here in a comment or something, over at the tumblr spot in a comment or something, on Twitter (http://twitter.com/klacknermusic), or via e-mail (ejklackner@gmail.com). Whenever an idea pops into your head, fuck it, just let me know and if it meets the criteria of me having no idea what it sounds like, I’ll put it in the queue. I think this’ll be fun y’all.

And one final note: nothing about this blog is going to change. I’m gonna ramble on with nonsensical drivel every now and then like I currently do, post some concert reviews, whatever. I’m gonna be finishing the symphony movement countdown ASAP and I’m sure I’ll think of something else passably interesting to write at some point. As always, thanks to those of you who enjoy this place for sticking around and reading. It’s always nice to hear from you. Happy New Year (preemptive strike) from me (inspired by Bush/Cheney/Rumsfeld) to you. ANCIENT and wholly unnecessary IRAQ WAR DIS OOOOOOOOHHHHH!!!!

7 thoughts on “A new year’s resolution with help from the hipster bastards over at tumblr

  1. Sergio Cervetti’s “Leyenda”, a very interesting piece over a poem of Juan Zorrilla de San Martín. Hope you enjoy it :)

  2. A while back, after discovering your blog, I asked if you had heard The Wood Nymph by Sibelius. If you haven’t yet, I recommend it again. Listen to the first two minutes and you will be hooked. Also the conclusion is one of the greatest ever:

  3. Do you intend to listen to only classical music, or is any genre open to you?

  4. @Kenneth Goodenough: I believe Mr Klackner said ANY piece of music. I have to get over to my Spotify playlists…I’ve got some cool tunes stored! Happy 2014 everyone!

  5. @Loki: Thank you for your suggestion of Sibelius’ Wood Nymph. The fact that it has an incredible phalanx of French Horns leading us into a frenzied journey has definitely made this worth the listening adventure. Thanks again.

  6. Sounds like an invitation to out oneself as a hopeless square (“Dude, everyone knows that band…”) AND incorrigible hipster (“Dude, quit bein’ obscure for its own sake…”) at the same time. But I’ll take a bite.

    I’m a big fan of the 1970s British prog band Gentle Giant and the current tech-metal band Behold…The Arctopus. Try “In a Glass House” and “Skullgrid” respectively.

    I recently discovered that my college friend and bandmate Chris Morrissey released an incredible album a few years back entitled “The Morning World.” I highly recommend it.

    Two other “recent” “jazz” records I particularly enjoyed are Tomasz Stanko’s “Suspended Night” and Gilfema’s “Gilfema +2.”

    As for “new” “classical” stuff, I nominate Lutoslawski’s “Mi-Parti” and Penderecki’s “Cello Concerto” if you are not already hip to them.

    Finally, if you never had the time or interest to dig deep into Domenico Scarlatti’s keyboard sonatas while trudging through the undergrad core music history sequence, I forgive you. However, do your younger self a solid and check out the aptly-titled recording “Domenico Scarlatti: Sonatas for Harpsichord” by Virginia Black.

  7. I do not know if you know this but I will recommend Pastoral d’ete by Arthur Honegger. Fine piece of music. It brings me back to my summer walks in the mountains of my old country when I was a student.

You got something you wanna say? You talking to me?

