A Shout Into the Ether

It’s been over 16 months since I last posted. I went through a Buddhist phase and came out the other side. Possibly wiser. Definitely with fewer possessions.

Since that day, I’ve done the following: met a beautiful woman, moved across the United States with said woman, gotten two new jobs, and lived in two different apartments. Everything after meeting the woman was actually within the last six months. That’s a lot of activity, and it definitely struck me as extremely non-Buddhist. That, along with some gentle prodding by old friend Ken Woods, prompted me to see what’s what out here in the world.

I live in the NYC vortex now. Presumably, enough shit will happen to me that I can make this space mildly interesting. I’m still really into Schubert and Bruckner like I was before. I’m getting into art and theater more, conveniently, given my location.

Hope y’all have been well in the intervening months and days.

5 thoughts on “A Shout Into the Ether

  1. Sweet fuckin’ Jesus! Best news I’ve read all day.

  2. So happy you are posting again!!

  3. Welcome back!

    Glad you are back blogging and glad to hear you are relatively nearby (I have been a very entertained reader of your blog, nearby in Pennsylvania)…..any chance you are free Friday February 26th? I am guest conducting a student honors orchestra in New Jersey, but have a block of time and am planning to hear the Vienna Phil at Carnegie Hall on the 26th-I can spring for your ticket if you are free and want to go….let me know asap (I plan to buy the ticket(s) on Friday 1-28) and we can hang before or after….take care,

    Tim Dixon

    From: Everything But The Music <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: Everything But The Music <comment+7ji–pl8kq7ilitc_91_u_@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Monday, January 25, 2016 at 7:55 PM To: Timothy Dixon <tdixon@messiah.edu> Subject: [New post] A Shout Into the Ether

    crackladen posted: “It’s been over 16 months since I last posted. I went through a Buddhist phase and came out the other side. Possibly wiser. Definitely with fewer possessions. Since that day, I’ve done the following: met a beautiful woman, moved across the United States”

  4. I discovered your blog a few weeks ago and after several enjoyable hours reading through it, saw that you were taking a break. I bookmarked it anyway as you know more about symphonies than I do. Started listening to Bruckner but so far I’m not too keen. I’ll keep trying.

    I’m glad you are back.

  5. Hi Kylie. That was super nice of you. Thank you for the kind words. I hope to hear from you again soon!

You got something you wanna say? You talking to me?

