Needless update, Vol. Whatever

True story: I actually do intend to do something or other with this blog, and I haven’t forgotten about it, in spite of the hilarious lack of content in the last year or so. Not very long after my last post, whenever that was, I gave my computer to my sister, who needed a laptop for school and was having issues with her own. Yesterday, I was given as a gift the fancy-time keyboard attachment thing for the iPad that I purchased over the summer or whenever.

Technology being what it is, I could have just as well written some things with my index finger on my phone or tablet, but that would have sucked, quite frankly. Texting is awful, and it would have taken three times as long for me to write something halfway interesting. Plus, as anyone who reads this knows, I ramble on incessantly, and those ramblings would have been significantly more difficult if I was typing them with one finger. Not said, although now I’m about to, is that I pretty much type on a keyboard with three fingers anyway.

In fairness to myself, shit also got super hectic. I changed jobs and house hunted during the last quarter of 2016. We’re moving in January, but then things should settle down some, barring tragedy. It is my sincere hope that I can re-kindle this space, because I have opinions! I might be expanding things a bit to encompass theater and art and shit, since I’ve been doing a lot more of that as well since moving to New York.

Whatever. You and I will believe it when you and I see it. In the meantime, Happy Holidays out there. Also, this keyboard works pretty damned well, I have to say.

6 thoughts on “Needless update, Vol. Whatever

  1. Hang in there, Mr. Laden (or is that ben Laden). I for one will anxiously await your return in whatever form and from wherever.

  2. Thanks for the update. Looking forward to whatever the new year brings!

  3. You’re not allowed to blog without posting at least once a month.

  4. Hey Erik, this is to finally say how much I really enjoy your blog. I stumbled upon your post “20 Thought On 20 Conductors” about two years ago, and your blog has seriously helped me to become the classical music aficionado I am today. More recently – as in today – I launched a website called Bukowski, Beer & Beethoven, a labour of love for people who want to become acquainted with classical music without the usual marble hall exaltation and church-like holiness. Through 50 excerpts of poems related to classical music, Charles Bukowski brings us the gospel of symphonic music like a reverend waving a gun around. Arbitrarily ranking and recommended recordings included of course. Perhaps you’ll enjoy it > http://www.bukowskibeerbeethoven.com Hang in there and I hope to read more from you whenever you’re up to it.

  5. Wow. I’m incredibly touched by your comment and thank you profusely for your kind words, both here and on your website. I took a glance at your website this morning before beginning a frantic run of errands, and it was beautiful. I look forward to taking a deep dive into it!

    If you ever find yourself in New York, do let me know. It would be a treat to meet a classical music fellow traveler! Thank you again. Your kind words mean a lot to me.

  6. Thanks and you’re very welcome of course. NY is on my shortlist, so who knows. Delightful and sickening things might occur ;-) And should you make it to Amsterdam, I’ll gladly meet you next to that terrifying staircase in the Concertgebouw. Take it easy Erik!

You got something you wanna say? You talking to me?

